May 19, 2013


It’s hard to believe that it is yet gain time to prepare for the Child of Mary mass for the Sixth Year students. The Religious Education Department and the Music Department have been carefully planning the final details with the Leaving Certificate group to ensure that their graduation mass is unique and meaningful to them. Undoubtedly it will be a bittersweet moment as we prepare to send an amazing group of young ladies towards their next step in life but the school will also be sad to say goodbye to such a lovely lot. The mass will take place in the Cathedral on Wednesday 22 at 7pm.


This year there was a very impressive level of participation in relation to the Scifest competition which was held in Tipperary Institute. Congratulations to all the students who took part in the competition.

Fifth Year: Darielle Ronan, Niamh Kennedy.

Transition Year: Sarah Fogarty. Leona Bowe, Eimear Martin,

Marie Claire Fitzgerald, Niamh Butler,

Alison Muldowney , Edel Hughes, Sinead Gleeson,

Orla Healy, Alexander White, Mikayla Ryan, Amy Revell.

Second Years: Esha Hourigan Clancy, Rebecca Lynch, Susie Osborne

Gillian Burke, Emma Coffey, Muireann O`Dwyer,

Brenda Wright, Cliodhna Collins, Alacoque Daly,

Siobhra Dooley, Isabel Hanly, Aoife Shanahan,

Kelley Doyle, Aoife Booth, Niamh M Browne.

First Years: Shona Power, Clodagh Kinane, Melanie Devereaux,

Laoise Stapleton, Rebecca Cole, Michaela O`Halloran,

Irene Flynn, Tara Hyland, Sophie Hayes, Bridin Murphy,

Sinead Ryan, Vanessa Dwan, Elaine Dwan,

Susan McGrath, Katie Ann Hartigan, Megan Hayes,

Mollie Irwin, Emily O`Dea.

Scifest 2013 Awards

Intel Award: Sinead Gleeson, Alison Muldowney, Edel Hughes

2nd Intermediate Group Award: Sinead Gleeson, Alison Muldowney,

Edel Hughes; “EZA Science”

Best Maths Project: Esha Hourigan Clancy

2nd Junior Individual: Esha Hourigan Clancy;

“A statistical analysis of the food wastage and efficiency of the Urban and Rural Irish household.”

2nd Junior Group: Irene Flynn, Tara Hyland, Sophie Hayes; “A bacterial makeover”

Best Runner up Project: Susie Osborne, Gillian Burke.

1st Junior Group: Susie Osborne, Gillian Burke; “Yay or Neigh”

1st Junior Individual: Cliona Collins.

LIT Environmental Management Award: Cliona Collins; “Simpler seeds”

1ST Senior Group Award: Darielle Ronan, Niamh Kennedy; “To Investigate the Nutritional Value of pig meat following the addition of Selenium and Omega 3 in their diet”



The Under-14 Football team headed to a gaelic football blitz in Rockwell this week. Two teams headed off to the blitz comprised of First and Second Year students. Team 1 was very successful and beat Cahir (2-0 to 1-1), St Anne’s, Tipperary (3-1 to 1-1) and Cashel (2-2 to 1-3). They then drew with Loreto Clonmel (2-3 to 2-3). In the semi-final they played against Cashel and they snatched victory, 3-4 to 0-0. Unfortunatley the team was then beaten in the final by Loreto, Clonmel (0-0 to 3-5)

Team 2 faced Carrick-on-Suir first and beat them 4-3 to 0-1. However they were unlucky to lose against CTI Clonmel (1-1 to 1-3) and Templemore (0-1 to 3-4). They went forward to the quarter-final but were then beaten ny Killenaule, (1-0 to 3-3).


The Munster Schools track and field took place on Saturday May 18. A team of 4 travelled to Cork. Ciara Cummins won the first medal of the day with gold in the 1500m steeple chase. This was also her first Munster gold for the school in a track and field event. The 1500m is an event that Ciara has started to specialise in this year and with obvious success. It combines her great natural strength and her abundant speed. Her time of 5.23 is incredibly fast and puts her in a very good position for the All Irelands. Next on the track was Eimear Loughman. Eimear had qualified for 2 events and started with the 3000 metres. She ran a great race, and finished out of the medals in 4th position in a sub 12 minute time. Eimear has a lot of natural ability and we hope to see her fulfil her potential next season her progress was impeded by injury this year. Our next race saw Ciara compete with Eileen Rafter in the 1500m. Eileen and Ciara, along with Bella Sherlock ran the first lap in 80 seconds. They quickly broke away in a leading group with Eileen breaking away in the last lap with one decisive move to win in 4.54 minutes. Ciara and Bella fought all the way down the last 150 metres with Ciara just pipped into bronze medal position in a season’s best of 4.57. Once again Eileen showed her true class and strength as a track runner. Our next runner and medal of the day went to Aoife Delaragy. Aoife competed in the 800m. The race started off in a very slow pedestrian manner with the first lap run in 79 seconds. This is typical of championship running with no one single girl wishing to commit to giving the others a chance. The race was decided with 150m to go with Aoife finishing in silver medal position. Well done to all those who competed.

Written By Nora Tuohy