There are fourteen teams competing in all divisions of the Munster Hockey League and Cup and all have had great success including Provincial success at all levels and All Ireland success at Senior A level.  Students represent the school at Under 18 and Under 16 Inter-Pro and International level each year.

In 2017, the Senior A won the Munster Championship and so qualified for the All Ireland Kate Russell Trophy help in Banbridge, Co.Down.


80% of First Year students are playing hockey this year and there are five competitive teams in First Year alone.


Hockey School of the Year

In October 2012 and May 2017, the school received the singular honour of being named Hockey School of the Year for 2011/2012 and 2016/2017 at the Hockey Sports Awards in Dublin.  The reasons for the award as stated in the citation were:

  • High level of participation in all competitions - fifteen teams
  • Participation at A level in all categories of competition
  • Excellence of facilities
  • Receipt of Fair Play Award in Munster
  • High level of participation at First Year level
  • Highly skilled coaching staff
  • Active support for Hockey from the Principal